My joke falls flat

I’ve been away for a couple of days running a session on change management for some clients. We went through a number of models, tool and techniques. To demonstrate one of them I dreamt up a fictitious NHS trust.

The trust had an unflappable but slightly aloof Chief Executive called David, a bright and personable deputy CEO called Nick, a penny-pinching Finance Director called George, a steely HR Director called Theresa, a somewhat burdened Operations director called Vince, a Corporate Affairs Director called Ken, a former CFO brought out of semi-retirement to give the executive team some gravitas, and a Medical Director called Andrew who had some really wild ideas. For good measure, I included two grandee Non-Execs called Michael and Norman, a Matron called Sarah and a stroppy Ward Manager called Nadine.

Using the fictitious organisation to illustrate the approach worked. People understood the model and the tools that went with it. The exercise that followed went well.

But, alas, nobody got the joke!!

Oh well, better luck next time.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My joke falls flat

  1. Pingback: My joke falls flat - Rick - Member Blogs - HR Blogs - HR Space from Personnel Today and Xpert HR

  2. Mean Mr Mustard says:

    Well, I got it straight away, but there again, I’ve just knocked back a bottle of Stellenbosch, which, sadly, categorises me as a binge drinker, according to Official Government guidelines.

    So maybe your audience needed to loosen up a bit first. Workplace stress, I’d imagine. Poor things.

    Cheers!

  3. Colin Lusk says:

    I have to admit I had to read it twice before I twigged. Maybe if you’d mentioned the changes instituted since the retirement of the previous Chief Exec, Gordon, that might have got their attention.

Leave a Reply

