My first Big Society #fail

In the spirit of the Big Society, I decided to go along to my local community forum last night. It has been set up to help revitalise the part of London where I live and to get people involved in local initiatives.

But deciding is not the same as doing. Yesterday afternoon I was in a meeting in the City which over-ran. My wife was already Big Societying; she was in a school governors’ meeting which also over-ran. By the time we both got in, the evening was getting squeezed; there was no way I was going to find time to go to the community forum.

To paraphrase Oscar Wilde, the trouble with the Big Society is that it takes up too many evenings.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My first Big Society #fail

  1. Pingback: My first Big Society #fail - Rick - Member Blogs - HR Blogs - HR Space from Personnel Today and Xpert HR

Leave a Reply

