Thanks for 2011

The chaps and chapesses at WordPress have sent me the final stats on this blog’s visits for 2011.

The most popular posts were:

  1. Murdoch’s Frankenstein - The day I posted this, the blog traffic broke all previous records, as Mr Murdoch was bitten by his own monster.
  2. Public debt – how does the UK compare? - Well everyone’s talking debt at the moment, aren’t they?
  3. Why are public sector efficiency savings so hard? (Part 1 – The processes) - Part of a trilogy. 2 and 3 are here and here.
  4. What causes the gender pay gap? - Surprising because I think this more recent post on this subject is better.
  5. ‘Gingerism’ – the next form of discrimination - This, er, vintage post continues to get hits. I suspect that the picture of Kate Dillon might have something to do with it.

The top referrers for Flip Chart Fairy Tales were similar to last yearThe GuardianPersonnel Today and Chris Dillow’s Stumbling and Mumbling. Twitter (which is, of course, lots of different people) was also in the Top 5, as was Facebook, which perhaps reflects the increasing amount of discussion taking place there.

2011 was a funny year for me. Businesswise and blogwise it was great but on the domestic front it was crap. Our house was flooded four times after a sewer burst. We are still living in temporary accommodation while the damage is being repaired. Having said that, when I look at what others have to face, I don’t know what I’m moaning about. My misfortune is only a minor irritant compared to the sort of hardship millions of people cope with every day. It’s all too easy to get wrapped up in your own woes.

People often ask me why I write this blog. I’m not absolutely sure but I do know that, when I have periods when I’m just too busy to write, I get withdrawal symptoms. I feel the need to express my thoughts and opinions, especially when there is a lot going on in the news. Putting my stuff out on here saves me ranting at my family, friends and colleagues. I’ve learnt a hell of a lot from doing it too and I’ve gotten a lot quicker at writing.

But without the people who read and comment, either here or elsewhere, on Twitter, LinkedIn, Facebook and suchlike, it wouldn’t be nearly as much fun and I wouldn’t learn nearly as much. I know commenting takes time and I appreciate each one – yes, even the ones that tell me I’m talking rubbish.

Thanks for reading and commenting during 2011, folks. Happy New Year to you all. I hope 2012 brings you good things and that you keep dropping in from time to time.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Thanks for 2011

  1. Phrag says:

    Keep up the good work Rick. Your honesty, pragmatism & clarity is very refreshing

  2. Pingback: Thanks for 2011 - Rick - Member Blogs - HR Blogs - HR Space from Personnel Today and Xpert HR

  3. Phrag’s sentiments seconded!

  4. James F says:

    Yes – I really enjoy the blog.

    Would be very interested to know how many page impressions you’re getting, unique users etc. Although for whatever reason you may deliberately have left that out.

  5. Left Outside says:

    Always a pleasure reading your work Rick.

  6. Rachael says:

    Thanks for being there Rick – frankly the Cleudo article was what has caused the most chatter over here in Singapore… :) :)

  7. joshua karl says:

    I really enjoy reading your blog…the only one I bother to read consistently

Leave a Reply

